2025 Walt Disney World Vacation Packages Now Available!

New and Returning Cast Announced for ‘Star Wars: Episode IX’

New and Returning Cast Announced for 'Star Wars: Episode IX' SWepIXlogo

Filming is set to begin soon on the next episode in the Star Wars saga at Pinewood Studios in London. J.J. Abrams will direct Episode IX and co-wrote the script with Chris Terrio.

Confirmed to return for the film are Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Kelly Marie Tran, Joonas Suotamo, and Billie Lourd. New to the cast are Naomi Ackie and Richard E. Grant.

LucasFilm confirmed reports that Billy Dee Williams will reprise his role as Lando Calrissian for the film.

Mark Hamill and Anthony Daniels will also be back in their icon roles of Luke Skywalker and C-3PO.  The late Carrie Fisher will be part of the film as well using unreleased footage shot for Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

According to Abrams, “We desperately loved Carrie Fisher. Finding a truly satisfying conclusion to the Skywalker saga without her eluded us. We were never going to recast, or use a CG character. With the support and blessing from her daughter, Billie, we have found a way to honor Carrie’s legacy and role as Leia in Episode IX by using unseen footage we shot together in Episode VII.”

Filming begins August 1, 2018 and Star Wars: Episode IX is scheduled to hit theaters December 2019.

Source: Star Wars/LucasFilm

Tom is the host and producer of the DIS Unplugged: Disneyland Edition podcast, plus Disneyland Editor of The DIS. He enjoys traveling with his wife and teenage son. At this point, their favorite destination is Alaska, with a FIFTH cruise there planned for the Summer of 2019. In his spare time he volunteers with Boy Scouts and Cub Scouts, and help found his son's former Cub Scout Pack. His favorite Disneyland attraction is Space Mountain.


Our agents will assist you in booking the perfect Disney getaway, all at no extra cost to you. Get the most out of your dream vacation by letting us assist you with dining and park reservations, provide expert advice, answer any questions, and continuously search for discounts to ensure you get the best deal possible.