Disney lobbies for ticket law changes
| Posted: Mar 29, 2013 | Updated: Oct 19, 2014 - 9:25:27 AM
Walt Disney World
is asking Florida lawmakers to change the state's ticket laws so they would more clearly include the MagicBands, part of the new MyMagic+ system
. The wristbands will act as park ticket, room keys and have charging privileges. The current law currently uses the term "multiuse tickets," but Disney would like it to be reworded so it doesn't only include regular printed tickets, but also includes "any right designed for admission."
One other change Disney hopes for is in the wording of the section discussing illegally reselling multiuse passes. This has been a big problem lately for Disney, as well as other local theme parks. It is currently illegal to resell or transfer tickets that say "nontransferable; must be used by the same person on all days." The MagicBands would not have that wording printed on them, both from a practical standpoint, as well as an aesthetic one. Disney plans to make various version of the bands available (presumably for sale), so guests can choose their own design. Because of this, Disney would like the bill to say that the phrase must be found on the park's website instead of directly on the pass itself.
Disney says these changes are necessary. Company spokesman Bryan Malenius says, "As technology continues to evolve, theme parks and other venues are able to make ticketing for guests more convenient. The bill being considered by the Legislature will help Florida keep up with the rapidly changing way guests experience entertainment choices, including our parks."
These changes are part of a "broader bill that aims to prevent fraudulent sales of theme-park passes." Some are concerned that the rewrites would affect people trying to resell tickets to sporting events, concerts and other such venues. Despite this, Disney is hoping to bring attention back to the portions of the bill going after the illegal ticket resellers. Penalties for this crime would increase drastically. Current fines for a first-time violation are only $500; they would jump to a maximum fine of $10,000 and repeat violations would be considered a felony.