Save up to 25% on stays most nights April 10 through July 10, 2023
Save up to 20% on stays most nights March 1 through March 31, 2023
Request a No-Obligation Quote

Hallstrom and Johnston Will Share Directorial Title for ‘The Nutcracker and the Four Realms’

Disney’s The Nutcracker and the Four Realms opens in theaters on November 2, 2018. During the credit sequence, look closely at who the film was directed by.

In early 2016, Lasse Hallstrom was originally selected as the sole director for the film, but in late 2017 Joe Johnston was brought on board for 32 days to direct several “significant reshoots.” What makes this unique is this double directorial duty will appear in the credit sequence, with Hallstrom and Johnston both credited as the director, according to The Hollywood Reporter. This doesn’t typically occur unless the two work as an established team. Normally in a situation where one director steps in for another the Directors Guild of America decides which of the two deserves the title of director.

There doesn’t appear to be any ill will between the two directors. Hallstrom told The Hollywood Reporter, “Joe is the ultimate expert in visual effects and I enjoyed collaborating with him on this film.” Johnston returned pleasantries by saying, “When I was asked to direct the remaining elements, I saw an opportunity to complete Lasse’s wonderful and wildly inventive vision.”

Reportedly Hallstrom offered to share the directorial title card with Johnston. Both approached The Walt Disney Studios with the idea. The modified directorial title card was sent to the Directors Guild of America for approval.

The film is inspired by E.T.A. Hoffmann’s 1816 story, “The Nutcracker and the Mouse King,” and stars Keira Knightly, Morgan Freeman, Helen Mirren, Eugenio Derbez, Mackenzie Foy, and Ellie Bamber.

Credit: The Hollywood Reporter

+ posts

Stephen "Steve" Porter started going to the parks with his family in 1996. Since then he hasn't looked back! Steve was a cast member participating in the Disney College Program in 2013. Most recently he graduated from Penn State University!


Dreams Unlimited Travel is committed to providing you with the very best vacation planning experience possible. Our Vacation Planners are experts and will share their honest advice to help you have a magical vacation.

Let us help you with your next Disney Vacation!